jQuery not supported.

Ac and heat quit working

All in all it quit working

Ac and heat quit working

Postby Brandonluvshischevy [OP] » May 02 2011, 3:30am

Ok guys I am a rookie at all this but I recently bought a 2003 Silverado and the heat/ac worked fine. One day the ac just stopped blowing cold and the compressor would not kick on.. The heater still worked now a couple weeks later the heat quit as well. I bought some 134a and before installing it I checked the pressure and the pressure was very high in the red(warning). I did read and see that some guys would have the pressure drop once the compressor kicked on. I cannot seem to get it to kick on though. I checked all the fuses I know of. I read that there is a way to short the low and high pressure switches to test it but do not know where they are located??? I checked for power at the comp but nothing......thanks in advance
Original Poster
Brandonluvshischevy
Topics: 1
Years of membership: 3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
Year: 2003
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Extra Info: 5.3 L v8 z71
Group Membership:
Newly registered users
Registered users

Ac and heat quit working

Postby Jrluz14 » May 02 2011, 12:37pm

Check the harness under the dash on the passengers side. You only have to pop off the black cover. It's an odd shaped thing sticking out from the bottom of the dash, you'll notice it. Sometimes the wires burn there and short out. It's common on the 03'
Jrluz14
Combustion on 5 pistons [L2]
Combustion on 5 pistons [L2]
Topics: 13
Years of membership: 3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
Year: 2003
Extra Info: 2500HD 6.0 RCLB
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Ac and heat quit working

Postby Herkel » Jun 21 2011, 10:19pm