Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner

Headlight, turn signal, hazard light problem

11K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Lionking222 
#1 ·
Hi all,
I am brand new here and desperate for some help. I have been searching for answers for hours on the internet with no luck and I found this site! I have a 2000 Sierra 4.8L 4x4 extended cab. It has about 112,000 on it. The other day I noticed that my headlights (and subsequently my dash lights) were always on, even in the daytime. Yesterday my turn signals stopped working as well as my hazard lights. They won't do anything. My brake lights work fine and hi/low beams too. I have found a lot on the internet about the drl mode problem but didn't find anything about the turn signal/hazard problem with the drl issue at the same time. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Thad

#2 ·
WELCOME to the best site on the net for your truck!

I am not a total expert, but a lot of members have discovered issues with their grounds. Check you ground wires for corrosion. Also, let us know what mods you have done to the truck that could potentially affect the electrical systems.

Good Luck!

#3 ·
Thanks for the info. I will check that out.

As far as electrical mods...I installed a flip-down monitor in the ceiling with hookups for a playstation mounted in the back corner moulding. I have a power inverter mounted under the seat to plug in the video game system that is wired directly to the battery. This has all been in the truck for 6-7 years so I am not sure if this plays a part in this new problem I am having.