jQuery not supported.



Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby BugBoyOne [OP] » Sep 10 2012, 12:25am

I bought a used 2005 Silverado 2500 crew cab. It didn't come with key fobs so I bought two on line. I ran through the programming steps but no luck... it does not recognize the remotes. So... where exactly is the RKE receiver in this truck? I want to confirm that it's powered up first. Not even sure which fuse runs it.

I've searched this topic but it's inconclusive. Any assistance is appreciated before I bring it to the dealers for help.

Thanks
Original Poster
BugBoyOne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Topics: 1
Joined: Aug 13 2012, 4:26am
Years of membership: 2 years of membership2 years of membership
Location: Alberta
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby adamant » Dec 05 2012, 1:52am

Bump
adamant
Firing on 3 cylinders [L1]
Firing on 3 cylinders [L1]
Posts: 30
Topics: 10
Joined: May 17 2011, 1:59pm
Years of membership: 3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
Location: north east usa
Year: 2009
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Extra Info: ex cab 4x4 1500
Group Membership:
Registered users

Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby Machster69 » Dec 05 2012, 1:54am

Sure you got correct fobs?
Machster69
Shifting into Sixth Gear! [L3]
Shifting into Sixth Gear! [L3]
Posts: 7970
Topics: 105
Images: 79
Joined: Feb 16 2012, 3:03pm
Years of membership: 2 years of membership2 years of membership
Location: Baton Rouge
Year: 2010
Make/Model: GMC Sierra
Extra Info: 5.3 SLE 2wd
Group Membership:
How-to Authors
SilveradoSierra Guru
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby BugBoyOne [OP] » Dec 05 2012, 3:55am

Well, an update. Took my fobs to the GM dealer. They confirmed that they were the correct part number, albeit an older P/N. Also confirmed that they were actually transmitting... but they couldn't program either of them to the truck using their scan tool. I asked them to try one of their new ($75) fobs... programmed no problem ($65 for 1/2 hour of shop time). So it appears that my correct P/N fobs both don't work for some reason. I had a co-worker try them on his 2006. They should have worked on his truck too but he couldn't program them.
Original Poster
BugBoyOne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Topics: 1
Joined: Aug 13 2012, 4:26am
Years of membership: 2 years of membership2 years of membership
Location: Alberta
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby rshad » Dec 05 2012, 4:02am

BugBoyOne wrote:Well, an update. Took my fobs to the GM dealer. They confirmed that they were the correct part number, albeit an older P/N. Also confirmed that they were actually transmitting... but they couldn't program either of them to the truck using their scan tool. I asked them to try one of their new ($75) fobs... programmed no problem ($65 for 1/2 hour of shop time). So it appears that my correct P/N fobs both don't work for some reason. I had a co-worker try them on his 2006. They should have worked on his truck too but he couldn't program them.


Get you money back from who you purchased them from. They might be bad ones that they pawned off on you.

Ron
2013 GMC Sierra Ext. Cab 1500 SLE 4X4
Vortec 5.3L V8 SFI FlexFuel engine
6-speed automatic transmission
User avatar
rshad
Firing on 8 cylinders [L1]
Firing on 8 cylinders [L1]
Posts: 95
Topics: 5
Images: 6
Joined: Nov 07 2012, 6:56am
Years of membership: 1 year of membership
Location: New Castle, Delaware
Make/Model: GMC Sierra
Extra Info: 2013 Ext. Cab
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby BugBoyOne [OP] » Dec 05 2012, 4:43am

I waited too long messing around with them and the e-bay vendor won't respond to my questions (keylessking*). These appear to be new, OEM fobs but they just don't work for my truck. This vendor has a very high approval rate so these things are working for almost everyone who buys them. At <$50 for two to your door they were worth a try. Currently i have a standing offer at work: I'll take 12 beers from anyone who can get them to work on their vehicle.
Original Poster
BugBoyOne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Topics: 1
Joined: Aug 13 2012, 4:26am
Years of membership: 2 years of membership2 years of membership
Location: Alberta
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby rshad » Dec 05 2012, 5:18am

I checked on keylessking* and he has had a lot of bad feedback lately. They say the fobs don't work. If I was you I would do a "Resolve a Problem" ticket in eBay. Look where it shows up in your My eBay area next to the item that you purchased and at the right there is a link that says "More Actions" underneath "Leave Feedback" and then click on "Resolve a Problem" This usually gets them to answer you because eBay contacts them.

This page gives you a few part numbers for your truck. http://www.carandtruckremotes.com/r478.html

Here is a listing that is cheaper then what you paid. I think this is for two but I would contact the seller first to make sure it is for two. http://stores.ebay.com/wholesale-24-7/_i.html?_nkw=21997127+&submit=Search&_sid=26852843
2013 GMC Sierra Ext. Cab 1500 SLE 4X4
Vortec 5.3L V8 SFI FlexFuel engine
6-speed automatic transmission
User avatar
rshad
Firing on 8 cylinders [L1]
Firing on 8 cylinders [L1]
Posts: 95
Topics: 5
Images: 6
Joined: Nov 07 2012, 6:56am
Years of membership: 1 year of membership
Location: New Castle, Delaware
Make/Model: GMC Sierra
Extra Info: 2013 Ext. Cab
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby massaudio » Oct 13 2013, 7:42pm

I just bought 2 fobs from wholesale-24-7.....and I am having the same issue. They go through all the steps like it finished programming, but they still dont work. I have a 2006 silverado, I even double checked the part number, and the fcc #. They are the exact ones GM says should work. Be aware of bad remotes being sold on E-Bay. I have filed a complaint, so we will see what happens.
massaudio
Firing on 1 cylinder [L1]
Firing on 1 cylinder [L1]
Posts: 10
Topics: 1
Images: 2
Joined: Sep 15 2013, 9:14pm
Years of membership: 1 year of membership
Location: Clarksville TN
Year: 2006
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Extra Info: ext cab 4x4 5.3L
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby GM Customer Service » Oct 13 2013, 8:13pm

I'm glad to hear that the dealership was able to find a keyless remote that worked for your vehicle. I hope that you can now enjoy your new purchase.

Best Wishes,

Jessica L.
GM Customer Care
GM Customer Service
Shifting into Sixth Gear! [L3]
Shifting into Sixth Gear! [L3]
Posts: 2286
Topics: 2
Joined: Nov 02 2012, 5:27pm
Years of membership: 1 year of membership
Location: Michigan
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Remote Keyless Entry Module - location/reset

Postby massaudio » Oct 13 2013, 8:32pm

What is the RPO code for the keyless entry ? If you dont have the rpo code, can you just install a module that has it ? My truck seems to have everything else (power windows, locks, mirrors, etc.) Thanks for any help
massaudio
Firing on 1 cylinder [L1]
Firing on 1 cylinder [L1]
Posts: 10
Topics: 1
Images: 2
Joined: Sep 15 2013, 9:14pm
Years of membership: 1 year of membership
Location: Clarksville TN
Year: 2006
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Extra Info: ext cab 4x4 5.3L
Group Membership:
Registered users
Next

Return to Electrical

 

  • Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Common search terms

work remote first help thanks entry keyless module location reset make problem right back think same still

It is currently Oct 25 2014, 10:11pm

  • Sponsor
Login  •  Register
SHOP TALK (Live Chat)
Electrical Forum
ElectricalDiscussion specific to electric components of trucks. Category for alternators or batteries, starters and ignition parts, anything 12v and electrical issue like fuses, circuitry, wire, terminals, switches, connectors, bulbs, relays, and wiring. Voltage and amperage diagnosis.
To create a new topic in Electrical, click this button:
Previous topic Next topic
Sitewide News Sitemaps & Feeds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests