jQuery not supported.

Replacing side mirror

How do you replace the mirror?

Replacing side mirror

Postby Trumpster1 [OP] » Jul 18 2010, 2:16pm

Has anyone replaced a side view mirror? I had a slight accident where I backed out of the garage a little too fast and smoked the passenger side mirror on the side of the garage. It cracked the plastic pretty good, but everything is still semi-intact. I've been running it like this for a few months, but would like to change it out. I found a replacement mirror on eBay for $60 (the dealership wanted $115) but I'm not sure on how to remove the mirror. Also, do you know if it's possible to change out the mirror from the standard power mirror with heat to the turn signal mirrors?

Thanks for your input.

Please feel free to contact me anytime at: Trumpster1@silveradosierra.com
Original Poster
Trumpster1
Technical Director
Technical Director
Shifting into Sixth Gear! [L3]
Topics: 146
Years of membership: 4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership
Year: 2014
Make/Model: GMC Sierra
Extra Info: AT 6.2L crew std bed
Group Membership:
Administrators
Global moderators
Registered users

Re: Replacing side mirror

Postby 99chevyz71 » Jul 18 2010, 7:31pm

most of them just have 3 bolts and a plug im not sure about the heated and turn signal parts
2008 Silverado Ext. Cab
99chevyz71
Combustion on 5 pistons [L2]
Topics: 5
Years of membership: 4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership
Year: 2008
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Extra Info: 1500 5.3l V8
Group Membership:
Registered users

Postby Trumpster1 [OP] » Jul 20 2010, 3:52pm

Okay, I figured that there are 3 bolts from the pictures on line of the new mirrors, but do I need to pull the whole door panel off? I'm not looking forward to it if I do, but it needs to be done, every time I bump into it with my shoulder it cracks a little more.

Original Poster
Trumpster1
Technical Director
Technical Director