jQuery not supported.

rear end FIT!!!!

diff rebuild vs whole rear swap

rear end FIT!!!!

Postby abernathyadam [OP] » Dec 29 2011, 10:38am

This is my first time to post in a forum but I need help! I have a 2007 Silverado ex cab with the 4.8 V8 and I think it has the 3.23 rear with around 80,000 miles. Now I am in Afghanistan and my wife is having problems with the truck. It has been making noise from the rear end for a couple months now and the dealer told her it was normal and then she started to get vibrations and took it to a diff guy and he said the rear needed to be rebuilt and the bearings needed to be replaced. Now I am no gear head but I try to be informed. Her guy quoted her up to $4000 to get it all done. Just by looking around online I can't foresee why it would cost so much. Another question is if I go threw the rebuild would it be worth my while to change over to the 3.73. I have tires that are barely bigger than stock and I do a lot of towing would it make that big of a diff. Another thing is I have been looking and I can get complete rear ends from the junk yard for a good price. Is it cheaper/ better just to swap out the whole rear end. Thanks for any input.
Original Poster
abernathyadam
Topics: 1
Blogs: 0
Years of membership: 2 years of membership2 years of membership
Year: 2007
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Group Membership:
Registered users
Related Topics  Are rear end gears the same as front end gears on a 10 bolt   New rear end????   Rear wheels wont fit my 01 1500   rear end noise   Rear end swap   rear end bounces   Rear End Squeaking   Rear End Interchange   rear end poppin   Rear End Woes...   possible rear end issue   Rear End interchange   Help I'm having rear end issues   Rear End Chatter 
Transmission/Drivetrain Sponsor
Advertise Here

Re: rear end FIT!!!!

Postby Z15 » Dec 29 2011, 4:20pm