jQuery not supported.

rear end FIT!!!!

diff rebuild vs whole rear swap

rear end FIT!!!!

Postby abernathyadam [OP] » Dec 29 2011, 10:38am

This is my first time to post in a forum but I need help! I have a 2007 Silverado ex cab with the 4.8 V8 and I think it has the 3.23 rear with around 80,000 miles. Now I am in Afghanistan and my wife is having problems with the truck. It has been making noise from the rear end for a couple months now and the dealer told her it was normal and then she started to get vibrations and took it to a diff guy and he said the rear needed to be rebuilt and the bearings needed to be replaced. Now I am no gear head but I try to be informed. Her guy quoted her up to $4000 to get it all done. Just by looking around online I can't foresee why it would cost so much. Another question is if I go threw the rebuild would it be worth my while to change over to the 3.73. I have tires that are barely bigger than stock and I do a lot of towing would it make that big of a diff. Another thing is I have been looking and I can get complete rear ends from the junk yard for a good price. Is it cheaper/ better just to swap out the whole rear end. Thanks for any input.
Original Poster
abernathyadam
Topics: 1
Years of membership: 2 years of membership2 years of membership
Year: 2007
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: rear end FIT!!!!

Postby Z15 » Dec 29 2011, 4:20pm

$4000 is way to much and never go back there again. The side bearings should not cost more then $75 and it sounds like he is planning on a $3,000 labor bill. Does the truck have a G80? Those can make noise especially in tight turns and slow driving because the axle is trying to lock when it senses a rear wheel slipping as might have in a tight parking lot maneuver or making a "U" turn.