jQuery not supported.

Oil Weight Recommendation

'04 1500

Postby CHUNTLEY [OP] » Sep 14 2011, 9:54pm

I've always run 10w-40. No real reason other than the old "that's the way my grandaddy did it, that's the way my daddy did it, so that's the way I'm gonna do it". I always have run Castrol High Mileage (135,000mi on truck)and have had no complaints. However, I'm not above taking good advice. I have been reading up on oil such as AMSOIL and Mobil-1 and am just curious. I'm no Exxon scientist or anything but do have an engineering degree from Clemson, so if I could get someone to tell me what the best oil weight and type (synthetic, conventional, blend, etc.) and WHY, I may be switching on my next oil change. Thanks!
Original Poster
CHUNTLEY
Firing on 1 cylinder [L1]
Topics: 6
Years of membership: 3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
Year: 2004
Make/Model: Chevrolet Silverado
Extra Info: 1500 - Z-71
Group Membership:
Registered users

Postby Drs1321 » Sep 14 2011, 10:34pm

I use castrol 10w-40....because that's the way my daddy did it :-D
Drs1321
Firing on 3 cylinders [L1]
Firing on 3 cylinders [L1]
Topics: 2
Years of membership: 3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
Year: 2011
Extra Info: LT
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Oil Weight Recommendation

Postby glens08 » Sep 14 2011, 10:56pm

You say you have an engineering degree. What field? First, there is nothing inherently "wrong" with petroleum (dino) based oil products. Just as there is nothing inherently wrong with drum brakes, tube-type tires, split rims, carburetors, slide rules, etc. But technology marches on. Synthetic oil (you may read to your hearts content at "bobistheoilguy.com") is to oil what computers are to slide rules - a better way to achieve the end result. What is the end result? A longer lasting, more fuel efficient, cleaner burning engine. Best wishes. Glen
glens08
Firing on 6 cylinders [L1]
Topics: 11
Year: 2009
Group Membership: