jQuery not supported.

Pros and Cons to gutting the Cat?

Pros and Cons to gutting the Cat?

Postby Kenmathis [OP] » Jul 05 2016, 6:53pm

Howdy! Before we start, I'm new to modifying trucks, so treat me with noob hands XD. MY truck is a 92 Sierra k1500 with a 5.7L 350, and a single inlet/dual outlet muffler already there, Im assuming the muffler is stock. I've been looking around and trying to decide the best way to modify my exhaust. Is there a con to gutting the cat so it acts as a straight pipe back? I dont mind a little drone so long as the truck isn't, though i dont want to muck with pressure so much that it bogs down when im accelerating. So, what are the cons, and what are the pros, to gutting the cat conv? And are there any legality issues surrounding that?

92 K1500 SLE w/ Z71
Cooper MTP's 285/75/16 on MB Chaos 6 Spoke wheels

Ask and ask and ask till you get it right.
Original Poster
Kenmathis
Combustion on 2 pistons [L2]
Topics: 41
Years of membership: 5 years of membership5 years of membership5 years of membership5 years of membership5 years of membership
Year: 1992
Make/Model: GMC Sierra
Extra Info: 1500 5.7LV8 Z71 SLE
Group Membership:
Registered users

Re: Pros and Cons to gutting the Cat?

Postby PowerslavePA » Jul 05 2016, 8:14pm

Pros:
Better performance, not much, small HP increase, up to 5.
Better MPG
Breathes better.
Better fuel options.
Better sounding exhaust with the right mufflers.

Cons:
Is 100% Illegal, Federally, and in all states.
Noxious unburned gas fumes to the people behind you.
Lowers back pressure, shifts torque band upward in RPM range, if not towing, then who cares.
Will set a Check Engine Light, automatic failure instates that do emissions.
Will fail emissions test.
May sound like an echo chamber.
Longer engine warm-up period.
More carbon on bumper to clean off.

Modern Vehicles w/OBDII, removing a catalytic converter will not drastically increase vehicle performance without retuning.

Risks: