jQuery not supported.

Newbie from Tennessee

1995 GMC K2500HD owner
Forum rules
Please do not post support requests in the new members area! This forum is for new member introductions and welcome messages only. Please post other topics in their appropriate areas so they stay categorized.

Newbie from Tennessee

Postby AnbroBR [OP] » Sep 09 2020, 6:29pm

Hello all,

I am new to this web site and I thought that I'd share my "daily driver" with you. I own a 1995 GMC K2500 pick-up truck, with the standard cab and an 8' long bed. I ordered the truck new from the factory in 1995 and have been driving it ever since then. The truck now has just under 289,000 miles on it.

When I ordered the truck, I was working as an electrician at an A.O. Smith Automotive Products Company facility, where they manufactured truck frames for Chevrolet and GMC. The facility had two fully automated assembly lines and a third that was partially automated. The automation was supplied by Allen-Bradley PLCs (programmable logic controllers) and by ABB (Asea Brown Boveri) for the control of the robotic welding.

At the time that I had placed the order for the truck, I was working 12-hour days, 7 days a week and I also worked every holiday that I could. They were having problems getting the production out and appreciated the employees who put in the over-time, in support of the production. I did not mind the long hours, because the work was interesting and also, at times, challenging. Working all those hours, I did not have time to spend any money, so I just saved as much as I could.