Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, and needing some info. I bought a 2012 Silverado 2500 HD several months ago. It came equipped with the 20 inch wheel option. They weren't my first choice, and the dealer didn't seem to keen about swapping them out with a smaller wheel. The tires on it are 265/60/20 Wrangler street tires. I really would like something with a more aggressive tread, especially with winter coming on. I know Chevy doesn't recommend off road driving with 20 inch wheels, but I don't really do much more than maybe driving across a corn field or logging roads. The truck is stock height, not leveled, and the local tire shops seem to think I can get a set of 275's under it without any problem. What's the consensus?
I am not above buying new wheels, but the tire dealers didn't seem too keen on the idea of selling me a new set of wheels. I was thinking 17 inch since there are a lot of tire options out there for that size. If I go that route, what are the specs I need to look for on the wheels? Any input will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2009 Silverado LT 4WD
9,464 Posts
You could do maybe a 275/60/20 or if you decide new wheels (keeping offset in check). I would do 18" wheels actually they have even more sizes available..and go with a 285/65/18...either way you may need to crank on your torsion bars a bit for clearance.

·
Registered
2,233 Posts
^Agreed. Level yourself out and you should be able to clear the 275s. 20s aren't really the best option on a 3/4 ton unfortunately, but you'll be fine 'offroading' as you describe it without a different set of rims. I've done comparable in 1500s with much less sidewall.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·