Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2021 Trail Boss with 5k miles, had 2 major service issues at 3k miles. At very cold morning start up it was idling really rough and ESC, Parking Brake & Check Engine lights came on. Closest shop was a GMC dealer, they said it had a bad injector and replaced them all. Less than a week later same thing happened plus loud engine knock and loss of power under load. Chevrolet dealer said bad lifter, replaced all lifters, a bent rod, seals, bolts, lines, etc.
now I'm at 5k miles, cold morning, rough idling and all the same lights came on again...
Any ideas WTH is going on???

·
Registered
18 Posts
I'm no mechanic, but I would try and get them to buy that thing back and get something else. Maybe try and get them to replace the whole engine. Got some major issues.

-Kurt

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
After the most recent service (4th) and a thorough inspection they discovered a missing clamp on a air intake line that was causing a lean condition that was triggering the warning lights.

·
Registered
1,117 Posts
wow...all these computers and sensors can help a truck to get good hp and decent MPG, but they can also cause some strange problems

·
Premium Member
1,218 Posts
So are they saying that caused all the issues? One more and I would be asking for a new truck. Do you have a lemon law there?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Im worried about my brand new 2021 Trail Boss as well.

Not even on first oil change and getting a similar issue.
My truck would light up like an xmas tree. Trailer brake, traction control, ABS, ESC, check engine.

It is at the dealer now while I am in a brand new loaner pickup (took a call to corporate to get it) and I am hoping its nothing major.
Sad thing is my brand new loaner might be having issues too!!! When I put it in 4wd it makes some very atrocious sounds and I have to take it back out.