Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was just wondering if anyone had any definite info on whether or not the EcoTec 5.3 is an LS motor? No guesses or assumptions please....someone who actually knows for sure. Just curious and wanted to know, thanks in advance

· Supr Moderator AutoTech SS-Guru Mbr Extraordinaire
2015 High Country Duramax
20,657 Posts
About the only thing the new ecotech motors share with the older ls based motors is the displacement.

· Registered
2017 Silverado LTZ Z71
5,360 Posts
Negative Ghost Rider, its the LT1 variation now

· Super Moderator, How-To Author, TOTM
5,240 Posts
My 5.3 Ecotec is an L83 motor which is LS based. Like above it shares displacement and that's about it. Now weather or not it is a definite answer is up to the judges. It's definitely something.

· Servicemen, TOTM
2015 Sierra SLE 5.3 4x4
7,671 Posts
I'm not an expert but I stayed at a Holiday Inn once.

It depends on the trim level. If you are in an LS then yes it's an LS. LT trim has the LT. LTZ has the LTZ 5.3.
Now that is for the Silverados. You are driving a GMC so it may have the SLE or SLT 5.3. Just depends on if someone swapped motors.

· Registered
1,116 Posts
The vortec 5.3, 6.0, 6.2, etc are LS-based.

The ecotec engines that are direct injected are LT1 platform based.

By the way - trim level has nothing to do with the engine. My 5.3L in my Silverado LT is still an LS-based engine. Blame GM for reusing the same labels for totally different things.

· Registered
98 Posts