Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I have an 06 LBZ and I've been having some trouble with morning cold starts. I have replaced all 8 glow plugs and it still does not want to start in the morning when left unplugged (I live in Mass). It will eventually start but I don't understand whats going on with it, as I'm the only diesel that i personally know of that does not start good in the cold. I only have problems in the morning/when it sits overnight, if i drive it to work it'll start throughout the day no problem. My only guess is an air leak in the fuel filter housing is causing it to lose its prime during the night, I know thats a common issue. By the same token though, if i plug the truck in at night it'll start with no issue in the morning which makes me backtrack the fuel filter housing idea. I do my best with this stuff but i'm no mechanic. I just wanna hear what anybody else might be thinking this is. Also, there is no CEL and no codes being thrown (that my cts2 can read anyway).

I appreciate any and all help!
Thanks,
-J.

·
Super Moderator
2015 High Country Duramax
18,557 Posts
When it's hard to start when not plugged in, I assume it just cranks for a while right? Is there any smoke when it's cranking? If so, what color is it?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That is correct. After a bit of it just cranking it'll sometimes run for a second then die and after messing with it, she'll fire up, elevate the idle, then all is good. Honestly don't think there's any smoke when cranking but can't answer for certain as the truck is a crew cab long bed and the exhaust is dumped over the rear axle so its out of view.

·
Super Moderator
2015 High Country Duramax
18,557 Posts
I would leave it un plugged on a cold night and have someone take a look and see if there's smoke or not.