Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive got an extended cab 2011 SIlverado. My mom has a 2012 Tahoe with the bose system (which mine does not have).
I'm trying to do a sound upgrade cause I've been spending a significantly more amount of time driving and have realized through hours of listening to my stock speakers how crappy they are. I'm looking for something to compare to my moms car, not looking for anything that is going to rattle the cab when I'm at a red-light from a sub. I'm new to speakers and everything so after some ready, I'm a little confused on channels and what I need to look for in speakers and amps(if I decide to get one). I'm not looking to spend an enormous amount, maybe $300 with everything. Any help would be appreciated!!

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
$300 is your budget? Is that including an aftermarket head unit or are you going to keep the stock one? How many subs? 10's or 12's? Replacing all four door speakers? If you want the "Bose" sound you will need an amp on the door speakers, front and back. Give me some more info and I'll see what I can come up with.

·
Registered
3,084 Posts
What don't you like about the stock speakers? Is it the lack of bass? Do they not get loud enough, or don't sound good at high volumes? If the speakers in general just don't sound good to you, I'd personally take a cd into an audio shop and spend your whole budget on 1 good set of speakers that sound good with the music you will be listening to, to replace your front speakers. If you are set on replacing the rears as well, then I would spend $200-250 on the fronts and $50-100 on the rears. Based on your original post I think you will be satisfied without an amp.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
They aren't loud enough and they lack bass. I want to do the whole truck but i would spend more on the front. Is it possible to always add an amp and sub later?

·
Registered