Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
Been lurking awhile and getting tips while working on my 2001 Silverado 2500HD...not quite done but very close. Figured since i should regiester and say thanks to all who put up the great info on here..

Attachments

· Registered
429 Posts
Welcome to the site! I always like seeing 8.1 trucks on here. Looks like you've got a good one there. I'm really liking that bumper.

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks gents,
That ICI magnum bumper is pretty impressive..looks very well made.

Actually, it is my first time doing most of this stuff, so its a little slow going at times, but its getting there. Finding the Protec bed was tough....i had to piece it together from wrecks and fabricate a little bit, repair some cracks too.... But its a cool bed for the northeast's rust issues.

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thanks guys, appreciate the compliments, questions and feedback!

The bed bolts were easy to get off, but i had a powerful airgun...i think by hand mightve been a different story since the original bed was pretty substantially rusted. I ended up buying 8 new bolts becasue the threads were very thin due to rust, and i had to cut one bolt off. The tailgate is part of the composite Protec bed that was an option on the 1500s back in 2002-03, which i pieced together, refurbished, painted and installed.

· Registered
310 Posts
Its coming along great! Thanks for the response, I'd be using a impact gun so thats good to hear. but i'll probably end up buying all new bolts then!

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·