Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the truck world, and am not much of a mechanic, so don't know a lot about this new-to-me 2008 GMC Sierra SLE Crew Cab with the 6.6L diesel engine. Would this unit (Car Android BT Bluetooth ELM327 OBD2 OBDII Diagnostic Scanner Code Reader - Car Android BT Bluetooth ELM327 OBD2 OBDII Diagnostic Scanner Code Reader | eBay) be good to get to check the codes, or do any kind of "tuning"? I was wondering if this can at least clear the TPM error, even though I already picked up a TPM reset tool from Amazon, so I can get rid of the message that says one of my TPM modules is not working, on both my truck and my wife's Chevy Equinox, but haven't had time to try it.
Thanks in advance for any and all help.

·
Registered
2010 GMC Sierra WT RCSB
442 Posts
The elm327 will be able to read general engine codes or view live data with a compatible app such as torque pro but I think you will also need the tpms reset tool for your issue. If the existing sensors don't program then it could be a dead sensor (battery). In that case you may also need one or more new tire pressure sensors. As for tuning, no the elm327 won't do that either. It is a good cheap option for reading codes but for tuning look into diablosport or hptuners. The tuners will also read codes but are much more expensive

·
Registered
2004 Sierra 3500 6.0L, auto, extended cab, cab&chassis, upgraded to 4wd
1,911 Posts
Tuning is a completely separate thing, but if this is a vehicle you are planning to diagnose and work on yourself, just get a used or knockoff tech ii setup. It can read codes from all the computers in the truck, perform all the diagnostic procedures for figuring out what's wrong, as well as things like repair procedures like pulsing the abs system to bleed it.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·