Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to this whole diesel thing. If I straight pipe the exhaust, will that raise the EGTs? I've heard that the exhaust plays a key role in keeping the temps low.

·
Premium Member
7,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OK. Is it still safe to do it, or should I get some type of EGT gauge?

·
Registered
43 Posts
imnot sure on that but i do know that aftermarket exhaust sounds amazing on these trucks. You should really look into a chip too they might be able to help with the egts im not sure but they might have a setting or something for that. Either way a chip makes these duramaxes extremely powerful. Im thinkin bout getting a red or black 2500HD duramax in the next few years. Anyway congrats on the purchase man got any pics?

·
Registered
407 Posts
Jon as soon as you start adding more fuel the egt's can climb alarmingly fast. A straight pipe won't hurt a thing. If you plan on mods a gauge pac should be the first thing.

·
Premium Member
7,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

·
Registered
43 Posts
very nice truck brother. Is it an 06 or what. looks like my 06 1500 i got now. White and everything and guess what mine came from a [email protected] dealership too haha

·
Premium Member
7,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
It's an 04. It needs some towing mirrors, and I plan on blacking out some of the accenting features (as well as doing the rockers in bedliner).

·
Registered
43 Posts
sweet post some pics when u do that

·
Premium Member
1,542 Posts
It will lower more flow u need to get the exhaust out as fast as possible

·
Premium Member
1,542 Posts
I got a 5" straight pipe on mine and on my high tune my egts (while racing) got to 1400 not bad for a quick burst but if I was towing and was at 1400 up a hill not good on stock they stay around 400-800

·
Registered
598 Posts