Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to chevy but have been a mechanic for about 6 yeas now and I never run into this problem before. The problem seems to be in the rear wiring but I'm not positive. Headlights, brake lights and directionals work fine until either the headlights are turned on or input my foot on the brake. Then the directionals blink faster and in the rear the light opposite of what the switch is switched to lights up. And thoughts please help need truck for work in couple of days thank you.

·
Registered
16,624 Posts
Just a guess here but blinkers normally blink faster when there is a larger load being placed on the flasher. Combine that with the unexplained lights coming on when you step on the brakes or have the headlights on, I would guess there is some kind of a shorting issue going on. Where it would be? I have no idea. But that is just a guess. I hate electrical problems!!!

·
Registered
3,346 Posts
What area of the country are you in?

There is probably a ground that is bad/corroded on your running/brake lights. When the ground wires get corroded there is added resistance so when you add a load to those lights affected the resistance forces the power to other circuits nearby. Its kind of like damming up a creek, the electricity has to flow somewhere so it backs it up like traffic jam trying to get to ground. I would clean the sockets really well especially the ones under the bed of the truck (if equiped) and put dialectric grease on all the connections. Also clean off the ground at the battery and where it mounts to the engine/frame. If you follow the wires from the back it should come up into the engine bay and try to see if there is a way to clean those connections as well.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·