Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Due to the recent projected events of 10-15" snow in specific parts of NYS by Monday. I've always been a little curious which to put my truck in.
I'm still new to owning my truck (roughly 3 weeks now) and have been curious. The stealership mentions to put the truck in "Auto" when the conditions
on the road are wintery.

What is the real difference between Auto or 4HI? Should I put the truck into auto mode as intended or 4HI? Do either have a speed limiter to
how fast I can go in either mode? Since we are projecting to have a ton of snow on Monday, I'm just seeking advice to which one to put the truck into (4x4)

I appreciate the answers in advanced, I'm not well versed in this as my previous cars have had FWD and AWD.

·
Super Moderator
2015 High Country Duramax
18,922 Posts
I never used the auto mode in either of my trucks that had it. Was either 2wd or 4wd.

But it is designed to be used with mixed road conditions. So for example, the roads have been plowed for the most part, but there are still some slick and snow covered areas.

Some people love it, others don't use it. My father uses it quite often. Heck his 2009 he kept in auto all the time for basically 120k miles. I definitely wouldn't do that though. It is un needed wear on the t case and extra drag on the truck due to the front axle always being engaged (granted not a whole lot extra).

·
Registered
2022 3500HD
19 Posts
Auto is nice when conditions are off/on slippery, as you will not have the front diff binding on dry pavement when turning corners. If you are in constantly snow or slippery conditions i would leave it in 4wd and keep it within the recommended speed, which is usually around 50mph.