jQuery not supported.

Ball park research done....just need an opinion

Ball park research done....just need an opinion

Postby USMCTEX [OP] » Oct 03 2013, 5:44pm

Hello Everyone,

I am new here, but I have been reading on here for a few days. This is my first lift and I need an opinion about gear ratios. I have been reading all sorts of info on here about how they work, what I need, etc. and have narrowed it down between two I think. A little info on my truck and plans, I currently have a 2013 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab LTZ w/ 5.3L V8. Current gear ratio is 3.08, w/ stock p265/65/R18 tires, 31.5". :shock: ( I was far more uneducated on this when I bought). I am wanting to go with a 6" BDS coil-over lift, 35" nitto trail grapplers, and 18" XD Monsters. I am still learning on the backspacing and offset for those, but thats another topic.

On to the drivetrain, I am thinking for me after all the reading would be to go with a 4.3 gear, as far as I can tell only Motive makes this size?, or I could go with a 4.10. Doing the Math if I were to swap to a 3.42, that would take me back to stock, but I feel like I would really need more than that do to the weight of those crazy heavy tires. So 4.10 would be a pretty decent upsize...but yet it seems the 4.56 seems to be the favorite for people. 4.56 I think would just be too low for me. I live in West Texas, so...very flat...lol. Most of my time is spent on the highway, but I do wanna have that power when I am in the city. Which is where I figured the 4.3 might be good. I will be honest, This is mostly for the look, There isnt alot of off road opportunity out here. And as far as towing I really don't do alot of it, occasional small trailer here and there with furniture.

Any opinions on this would be really appreciated.
Original Poster
USMCTEX
Topics: 1
Years of membership: 7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
Year: 2013